split carbon arrow shaft for support? help if u can.

Discussion in 'Scratchbuilding!' started by fesstuss, Feb 28, 2014.

1. fesstuss

fesstuss Rookie

Hey guys i am new to the hobby and currently building a f35 v2 free. I am wandering if anyone has ever used a split carbon arrow shaft in place of the 3mm carbon tube? I happen to have 2 garbage shafts laying around that I could use. And if you have used arrow shaft, how did you split it? If this build goes well I am goona buy the entire v3 fleet. I think im addicted already and I havent even ever flown a plane. I cant wait to finish and fly. thanks in advance..

2. achilles

achilles Ace Pilot

I built my f35 v2 and used bamboo skewers,flew it yesterday for the first time and had no problems.If you have access to a band saw you could use that to try to split the arrow shaft but it sounds a little challenging to me.

fesstuss likes this.
  3. JettaManDan

JettaManDan Administrator

it depends on the quality of the carbon....you can sometimes just snip it and then use a sharp blade to cut it down it's length....otherwise you need a saw of some kind....

fesstuss likes this.
  4. MacLarry

MacLarry Airman

I don't have an answer for you, but, if you end up cutting the carbon with a saw of otherwise creating carbon dust, - don't breathe it into your lungs. Carbon dust can permanently damage your lung tissue, and there is no recovery. Just be careful.

fesstuss and JettaManDan like this.
  5. Newt

Newt Administrator

very true!

fesstuss likes this.
  6. MacLarry

MacLarry Airman

Since you have some spare arrow shafts, you may want to have a look at some of the designs done by forum member bobdabilduh55 who uses those in some of his planes. His plans are free - just ask him for what you like.
    Here is his design for the B-2 Bomber.

For a lot more of his designs, search the forum for "Five Easy Pieces"

Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
    fesstuss likes this.
  7. GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear Airman

Fesstuss,