Parkflyers International Design and Build Log: Curtiss P-40 Warhawk

Discussion in 'Scratchbuilding!' started by bimoadiprakoso, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. Sterling101

    Sterling101 Top Gun

    Posts:
    1,682
    Likes:
    4,842
    Points:
    113
    Looking good Jeff. Have to admit for how easy those servo boxes were to come up with in Tinkercad they do work rather well and they're pretty light weight too :)

    I've been watching some of my depron spitfire videos back these last few days and yes on a hard turn and approach they look incredible - especially with a nice low pass followed by a pull up and barrel roll :D
     
  2. I scaled them up to 103%, servos still a snug fit but really slick for mounting. I had cut out for the flush servo into the wing already and had a brain storm "servo boxes" :)
     
  3. Well all the plane is together other then motor and esc, oh and the front lower cover, esc goes in first. Must have done something right, old canopy fits :)

    2018_0124_121920_001.JPG 2018_0124_141737_001.JPG 2018_0124_141744_002.JPG 2018_0124_141759_003.JPG 2018_0124_141812_004.JPG 2018_0124_160817_001.JPG
     
  4. bogusbandit56

    bogusbandit56 Top Gun

    Posts:
    8,750
    Likes:
    19,736
    Points:
    133
    Yes, that`s exactly what I`m talking about:)
     
  5. bogusbandit56

    bogusbandit56 Top Gun

    Posts:
    8,750
    Likes:
    19,736
    Points:
    133
  6. You know, I already have some printed spinners for 2 or 3 blade. ;)
     
  7. bogusbandit56

    bogusbandit56 Top Gun

    Posts:
    8,750
    Likes:
    19,736
    Points:
    133
    Hey Jeff,
    you know the standard JR motor mount you did can you set it up to make about 6 at a time.
    I don`t know how to do it in Cura.
    The one I have on the Talon is very good, I hope it doesn`t melt:)
     
    bimoadiprakoso and Wildthing like this.
  8. Hi Ian,

    You are using Curing and then saving it to a sd card right? So if yes when you are in Cura and you open a file and add it to the work table just keep doing that until either you have as many as you want or the table is full. Then save it to the sd card and print away.

    If you have a hot running motor just watch and feel for flex in the mount :D . I don't remember which one I was testing in the garage and pushed it really hard and then the motor was drooping, I held it in it's proper spot until it cooled. ;) That was the FRC Mig 29 where they are hanging off the elevator. :D Once it was cool good as gold again.
     
    bimoadiprakoso and bogusbandit56 like this.
  9. Ian, also when in Cura and you don't have an sd card in the pc you will notice it says save to file, so you can put 6 mounts on the work table , it does the slicing and ready for printing then save it to a file, name that file as 6 standard motor mounts or whatever you want. Any time you want to print those 6 mounts just copy that file to the sd card and plug it into the printer. The file is already sliced and printer settings are set so you don't have to even open Cura for it.
     
    bimoadiprakoso and bogusbandit56 like this.
  10. Sterling101

    Sterling101 Top Gun

    Posts:
    1,682
    Likes:
    4,842
    Points:
    113
    Only ever melted one and that was when I tried running a 12x8 prop and even changed the colour of the motor afterwards from the heat but it still held on - just!
    Here's the slightly more elaborate version I made for the GeeBee...

    IMG_20170317_063904.jpg
     
  11. Well the plastic only has to warm up to around 50C to become flexible, I wouldn't run the plastic mounts with my NTM 4S setups .

    Geeze, I didn't think the GeeBee nose was the large of diameter. :)
     
    bimoadiprakoso likes this.
  12. Well building is on a hold until new motors show up, all my lower kv motors are in combat planes but I did order 4 more of the Turnigy D2826-10 1400kv motors. Plus I have just a squeeze of UHU left until that order shows up.
     
    bimoadiprakoso and bogusbandit56 like this.
  13. Sterling101

    Sterling101 Top Gun

    Posts:
    1,682
    Likes:
    4,842
    Points:
    113
    I'm using PLA plus so the softening doesn't occur until about 120C - seems pretty good so far anyway.

    The GeeBee has a right fat nose on it - especially since I re-did the cowl to get more air flow. In fact it's currently standing on it!

    IMG_20180125_131505_264.jpg

    Really need to get that corner tidied up.... :p
     
  14. Sure, tidy up, keep building more planes!!!!!!! :D :D
     
    bimoadiprakoso and Sterling101 like this.
  15. Sterling101

    Sterling101 Top Gun

    Posts:
    1,682
    Likes:
    4,842
    Points:
    113
    Shush, don't tell Tracy... :D
     
    bimoadiprakoso and Wildthing like this.
  16. Oh, PLA plus, didn't know there were different versions of it, can you post a link to what you bought just so I have an idea what I am searching for. :) Thanks
     
    bimoadiprakoso and Sterling101 like this.
  17. Sterling101

    Sterling101 Top Gun

    Posts:
    1,682
    Likes:
    4,842
    Points:
    113
    bimoadiprakoso and Wildthing like this.
  18. Little bit of wedge filling to the P-40, still have couple spots on the turtle deck to do and then the motor can go in that is when it gets here.

    2018_0209_074934_004.JPG 2018_0209_074943_005.JPG
     
    bimoadiprakoso and bogusbandit56 like this.
  19. bogusbandit56

    bogusbandit56 Top Gun

    Posts:
    8,750
    Likes:
    19,736
    Points:
    133
    Excellent.
    Did you prang the first one Jeff?
     
    bimoadiprakoso and Wildthing like this.
  20. Nope, she got decommissioned for parts. :) She had quite a few battle scars so what the heck.
     
    bimoadiprakoso likes this.

Share This Page

string(1) "1"