F-18 V3 help needed guys

Discussion in 'Scratchbuilding!' started by as409, Feb 29, 2016.

1. as409

as409 Rookie

Hey guys!
    I am a beginner and this is my first plane so i didn't expect a perfect flight but guys it was a complete disaster :'). As soon as i left it from my hand it just crash landed directed and the nose broke.Please help me to make my plane better.I have thought to scratch built my plane so i will tell you what all problems i faced so you can help me with it.
    1)I used a 1800kv motor with 6x3" props and 2200 mah battery.
    2)the second main problem that i faced was with the servos.guys i have brought a flysky FS-i6 2.4GHz 6 channel transmitter. So since i am new to this i bought this cheap transmitter.Now it says 6 channel but in any particular mode only 4 channels are working.
    3)So is it neccesary to connect all servos to a different channel or can we short them and connect.
    4.)plus if we connect 6 servos to 6 channel then how can we put the motor to a channel.
    5)so i decided to short my aileron servos and when placed facing each other they moved it in opposite direction so it worked it.
    6.)then i clamped both my elevators together and controlled it using one servo.
    7)Similarly for my rudders i fixed a rod between the right and left rudder and controlled them usingg one servo

8)MAIN QUESTION IS- how do you connect the servos(please help)

Wildthing likes this.
  2. BadAxeFlyer

BadAxeFlyer Ace Pilot

Well, if you are a beginner, you should not be using elevons,aelierons and rudders. Try a simple 3 servo setup like i am going to. Use elevon mixing, so your elevators work, and they work as elevons as well. Since you have the same transmitter as I do, depending on firmware version, you might have a lot of difficultly figuring out the elevon mixing on that transmitter. I just figured it out last week. Check this thread out as to how to configure that transmitter for Elevon mixing.